Life in the 419

A lifestyle blog featuring content on local events, travel, ways to save and much more! All based on my adventures in Northwest Ohio, the 419.

Get to Know Me with 50 Things

17022075_10211996878226837_8098771375067689814_n

Get To Know Me

  1. I went to Maumee City Schools K-12 (Ft. Miami, Gateway & Maumee High School).

  2. Was 15 when I was allowed to get my ears pierced.

  3. I never flew until my mid 30’s.

  4. I was adopted when I was around 2 1/2.

  5. My middle name is Beth (only my gram got away with calling me Sara Beth), my mom’s name is Beth.

  6. When I was younger I wanted to be a writer when I grew up, I wrote many books at one time tried to self publish but it was too expensive.

  7. I grew up in the same home all my life, the street was Perlawn in Toledo, Ohio. We lived on the city cut off so my parents choose Maumee over Toledo Public. I had friends in both school systems.

  8. I still know my phone number from when I was younger 419-385-5270.

  9. 05-02-70 was my parents anniversary. (yep same as the last 4 in our phone number)

  10. Southwyck mall was a common stomping ground. Also worked there at Montgomery Wards.

  11. I stole a pack of gum when I was in 5th grade. Lied to my parents and got caught. Besides being grounded I had to apologize to Kmart. Then I was taken by my mother to the police and was told that if I did not straighten out it was where I would end up. Never stole anything again. (Also learned not to be so stupid as to pop a piece in my mouth after we left the store)

  12. We don’t have cable just Netflix and a Smart TV.

  13. I have only lived in Ohio. The younger years Toledo (K-12) to Weston, then back to Toledo, then Maumee, Haskins, Perrysburg and now Walbridge.

  14. My brother Jon and I are 6 years apart. My kids Jordyn and David are also 6 years apart.

  15. I used to love to go to Ohio Skate and still do.

  16. Many summers we would go to Wisconsin to a cabin my grandmother owned, it was built by a family member. It was sold when I was in elementary school.

  17. My dad passed away in 2006. It has been one of the hardest things in my life. Besides my Gram passing away. I miss them both like crazy. My dads birthday was Valentines Day and he passed on Father’s Day.

  18. Playing cards and board games was something we often did growing up. We have taught our children the same thing.

  19. I went to the same church my entire life, Maumee United Methodist. Only changed 4 years ago when we moved to a closer church, Main Street.

  20. My home is decorated in primitive décor.

  21. I met my husband at Side Cut Metro Park when my daughter ran up to his dog Tasha.

  22. My birthday is all double digits 11-22-77

  23. Small things like kindness can go really far. I will sometimes pay for the persons meal behind me or something where nothing is expected in return.

  24. The year I graduated I decided to get my hair colored just 2 days before senior pictures what was supposed to be blonde came out a orange. My parents were not thrilled at all.

  25. Built our home in 2014. It is a cute ranch with 3 beds and 2 baths. Our home on the outside is grey and white. Inside we have neutral colors with black accents like the fixtures.

  26. I noticed a few months after we moved to our home that our address has many of the numbers in my social security number.

  27. We were the last couple to have our wedding reception at Linck Inn off River Road.

  28. The church we were married in was built in 1901 at Monclova Country Church, on the grounds of the Wolcott House. (It can hold up to 100 people)

  29. Tim Wagener the mayor of Maumee was the person who married my husband John and I.

  30. Old Mans Haven Cabin in Logan, Ohio was where we went for our honeymoon. It was awesome because they let us bring our dog Tasha. We spent our 3 days (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) seeing the area. Exploring Hocking Hills State Park. The hike took us from Old Man’s Cave, Cedar Falls, Conkles Hollow, Rock House, and Cantwell Cliffs. It was a 8 mile hike round trip.

  31. Before kids I was 89 pounds and a size minus zero. (not anymore) Love them so much!!!

  32. In my younger days I played soccer, softball, was in gymnastics, swim team and on a bowling team. When I got older I was in the plays (drama club), youth to youth, DARE, cross country and played basketball. I still enjoy bowling. For 4 years I played dart ball at our church.

  33. I like to cook and bake outside of the box. Lasagna in the crockpot. Chili with a touch of honey and cinnamon. Homemade bread with apples and pumpkin. (Don’t knock it til you try it.)

  34. My father was the cook in our family and he made such good food. They wanted him to open a restaurant. He never cooked from a recipe always by sight and memory. I wish I could cook like him.

  35. I enjoy helping others and finding ways to give back in our community.

  36. Shopping is a game for me. Seeing how much I can save. (coupons, sales, etc) However I don’t believe in clearing shelves, being dishonest or buying things you do not need. Often I will donate to the shelters or those in need.

  37. I start to shop for Christmas for the following year the day after Christmas. I keep all the items in bins, keep a list of who and what each item is for. I try to keep spare gifts around incase something last minute comes up. (Yes I am organized and a bit OCD! Love a clean home. For 25 years I cleaned and organized with my own company called Sara’s Services and I still do)

  38. Not a beer or wine drinker. Not much of a drinker at all. When I do strawberry daiquiri, or Amaretto Sour.

  39. I am not a girly girl but do enjoy things with bling and sparkles. On the other hand you may see me in Camo, boots and some torn jeans. Dirt and fires are nice but I still clean up nice.

  40. Animal lover all the way. Love our dog Bear she is a husky-wolf.

  41. My faith keeps me centered. Love the Lord with all your heart. (Both the names of my kids are from the Bible) Not a Bible thumper and I do cuss a little.

  42. Not a artist but have been known to make my own items. (some crafts, blankets, soap etc)

  43. Knock on wood I have never broken anything major. (just a toe/finger)

  44. When I was a teenager I used to bite my nails. My dad said if I stopped he would give me $20 per nail. The key was if I did and I were to start again I would have to pay him back. I got my $200 and never bit my nails again.

  45. I have 4 best friends. Sara, Laura, (know both from school) Deb and Robin. (from my kids/later in life)

  46. The older I am the more of a night owl I have become. Usually only get between 2-5 hours sleep at night. I try to sleep and I am tired but nope.

  47. Entering contests and sweepstakes has been something I have done since I was young. I have won a little bit but nothing big. (coasters, playing cards, gift cards, t-shirts, movie tickets etc.) I will say I am not Lucky I am Blessed.

  48. When I blog I do it to share and help others not to make money.

  49. Taking photos is something I enjoy.

  50. I prefer summer and fall over winter.

  51. WIN_20170317_22_14_39_Pro
%d bloggers like this: